Endpaper Mitts

So, I have too much to knit already, I am going to Rhinebeck this weekend where I will get the rest of the yarn I need for Christmas, I’ve only finished one present, and what do I decide to do?  I decided I need fingerless gloves.  Now, I really do need some sort of hand warmer that is conducive to knitting, so fingerless gloves make sense.  They would probably be an easy knit.  Or that’s what I was thinking when I got yarn out yesterday.

yarn

The orange is wool of the andes in some orangey color.  The cream is mystery stash yarn that feels really nice.  I don’t know where it came from, but it looks really pretty with the orange. 

So I was going to do something really simple.  I was going to knit myself another fetching, but that would only use the orange yarn.  So I was thinking about doing something simple with a band of orange and then an inside color.  I started searching Ravelry for ideas, and I found gloves that I love.  These Endpaper Mitts are too cute.  So, eventhough this is my first fair isle project I started them.  Love them, but I don’t know if they’ll be done by Saturday for Rhinebeck!! I am using 8s instead of the 1,2, or 3s called for in the pattern and I only cast on 40 stitches, so I hope it will go by fast!  I can’t wait to wear them!  Here’s the progress as of last night:

endpaper 3

Also last night I made a felted bead!  It’s not so much of an accomplishment because I’ve been planning on making some since- oooh- Rhinebeck last year.  What really got me to do it is the realization that I couldn’t justify buying anymore roving when I haven’t done anything with the roving I have!  QUICK!  LET’S FELT!!  I only got one done because I was concentrating on my Endpaper Mitts, but I really like it!  It was super easy!  And I’m ready for more!  awesome–

single felted bead

So cute- right?

I’ll have my Rhinebeck shopping list post later today or tomorrow and a picture of what I will probably be wearing at Rhinebeck.  We’ll see how the weather is.

One thought on “Endpaper Mitts

  1. Pingback: Lace Update « Illusion is the first of all pleasures.

Leave a Reply

