Summer Salad!

in season salad

 

Yesterday it was 90 degrees and muggy in Boston, so when Ben picked me up from work I informed him that I was definitely NOT turning on the oven.  I was going to make a mozzerella, basil, and tomato salad, but the mozzerella we bought last weekend was bad because we left it out on the counter in 90 degree weather.  So that was dumb.  Luckily we had some marinated feta we bought from a local farm at the Marblehead Farmers Market.  After a quick trip to Whole Foods we were ready to create the biggest salad ever!  BTW- this picture was taken after we had eaten and I had taken my lunch out for today.

It was really yummy, so I am going to at least share what I put in it- I didn’t measure or anything.

Lindsey’s Summer Salad

  • Bunch of arugula
  • 2 large handfulls of mixed greens
  • 1 large handful of sugar snap peas
  • 1 orange pepper cubed
  • a large handful of grapes sliced in half
  • Half a hot house cucumber
  • 2 medium tomatoes
  • Kernels from one ear of corn
  • one small jar of marinated artichoke hearts
  • 1 can of cubed hearts of palm
  • 1 jar of garlic stuffed green olives
  • 1/4 lb cooked cocktail shrimp
  • marinated feta

I dumped the marinated feta in with the shrimp and added some olive oil and some lavendar salt and garlic to get the shrimp coated in spices.  This was the only dressing I used.  It was perfect for me, but Ben added more salad dressing. 

I tried to use local and in season things, but obviously tomatoes and cucumbers aren’t in season.  It was a delightful blending of salty and sweet.  I usually hate having salad for dinner and then the same salad for lunch the next day, but this one had so many interesting flavors going on that I looked foward to it! 

Of course, feta may be substitued for any cheese you’d like, and if it’s not marinated, just cube it and place it in a container with olive oil garlic and spices overnight.  Mozzerella would be really good or havarti or goat cheese!  Or goat cheese on crustinis on the side!  Or cheddar and apples would be a nice addition.  If you’re not into the overnight things, then I suggest getting some crumbled feta, adding it to some greek dressing and mixing it really well.  You’ll get a really creamy greek dressing.

ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Summer Salad!

  1. That looks so good! Summery salads are the one thing I can never get sick of. Last Sunday I made three Lebanese salads and packaged them in little containers to bring for lunch. One was chickpeas with sauteed onions and red pepper and tossed with lemon juice, fresh parsley, cumin and other spices, and chopped hard boiled egg. The other was zucchini cut into matchsticks and sauteed with red onion, lemon juice, white wine vinegar, pine nuts, dried currants, savory spices, cinnamon, and a little bit of sugar. Then I made a fruit salad that was diced honeydew in greek yogurt with honey and cardamom. I’m going to do something similar for next week, maybe with an east Asian theme this time.

Leave a Reply

