I’m knitting something very pretty

ss close up
It’s for for my mom- for Christmas. Though, if I get it done in time, it might be for her birthday.

swallowtail shawl 11-9-08
I started it on Sunday while I was working the Rosie’s Place table at the Christmas show in Boston, and after I got the hang of it I couldn’t stop.

swallowtail shawl 11-10-08
On Monday I wanted to knit it. Everytime it was out of my hands, I itched to knit a little more. I had taken to reading on the train instead of knitting because my ipod is currently out of service, but I couldn’t stop.

SWALLOWTAIL SHAWL 11-11-08
This is this morning’s picture.  I am so loving it.  It’s the Swallowtail Shawl from Interweave Knits Fall 2006.  The yarn is from Brooks Farm Yarn in Lancaster, TX:  400 yds of solo silk- 50/50 fine wool silk  sport weight.  It is gorgeous, but I’ve found a lot of breaks in the yarn.  I’m willing to forgive- those colors!  That sheen!  And it was pretty cheap for 400 yards!  I was thinking about knitting Ben a sweater with the yarn in a more solid colorway.  I’m not sure now that I’ve found all of these breaks (when 6 ends to weave in can quickly become 18 in a sweater!), but I am definitely into using it for more shawls.  It was a Rhinebeck purchase of course!

I’m afraid I’m going to have to break into the other colorway I have for the edging.  Do you think that will look ok?  It’s like a garnet color.  I think they are very pretty together, but I wasn’t thinking about them in the same shawl when I bought them.
Sunday's loot
It’s the yarn in the bottom right hand corner.  The skein directly above it is the colorway I’m currently using.  Do you they will look silly together?  I am wary of making the shawl smaller.  What do you think?

3 thoughts on “I’m knitting something very pretty

  1. I say go for it. If you think it doesn’t look right you can always rip it out. You seem to be pretty well ahead at this point, so you should at least try it!

  2. I agree, give it a try. But I would put in a lifeline near the end of the main-color portion so you can rip back to there if you decide to. I’m sure it’ll look great though!

  3. That yarn is beautiful! And having seen your knitting before, I know it will be a gorgous garment……………………. I’m looking forward to seeing it…………….

Leave a Reply

