So I went a little mad

You see- Ben said recently that he would wear hand knit socks.  It was right in the middle of Christmas knitting, so I didn’t think much about it, but I told him that I would definitely knit him socks.  I mean- if my husband wants knitwear, who am I to stand in the way. (It’s only taken me over a year to not finish his sweater–)  So, I got out the socks that I had been knitting last November before I decided to knit my dad an afghan. 

thujas 1-13-09
Awesome. They weren’t quite as finished as I remembered, but one sock already done!  That’s perfect!! 

And then I’m knitting and I started thinking- these are alpaca.  Oh.  I knit alpaca socks.  They are going to stretch.  They do not go into the washing machine.  Was that a huge mistake?  ALPACA?  Who makes alpaca socks!? And then I looked at how much yarn I had- 678 yards?! WHY DID I START A PAIR OF SOCKS?! oh gee. I could make a lovely alpaca shawl. oh gosh. Should I just frog them? Bite the bullet? I think I have to. I mean- How much do we think I’ve used- 100 yards? 150? Then I would have like 500- 450 left. It could be a nice scarf or a very small shawl.  Or another pair of useless socks that will stretch too big.  AGG. 

What do you think I should do?

 

–ANYWAY

But I was out last night waiting for Ben to get through a meeting, and I had a plan to go to Lush and buy more face wash and moisturizer, but of course- Windsor Button is on the way AND I got there by 5:15- I had 45 minutes to browse! So I’m thinking about what I want to knit next, and I remember Ben’s sock request, so I pawed through all of the sock yarn in the place. Seriously- I touched everything. And I picked up a very lovely skein and walked around with it for awhile, but I started thinking about how likely I was to actually knit socks for Ben and myself.  I mean- It’s a great idea, but am I really a “sock knitter”?  Do I want to spend a lot of money on my first pair of socks since my first pair of socks?

SO I went with Plymouth Yarn’s Happy Feet:

Happy Feet in Brown
For Ben

Happy Feet in Blue
For Me

How cute will we be?!

I’m thinking these for Ben and these for me.

 

But… am I a sock knitter? 

At least I had very fun night!
Fun night alone 1-13-09

3 thoughts on “So I went a little mad

  1. I can think of nothing better than Lush and sock yarn (also aren’t you so psyched they opened a Lush at the North Shore mall?! Lush is the only shampoo/conditioner I use and now I don’t have to trek into Boston or pay $10 shipping and wait 2 weeks for it to get here from Canada! Woo hoo!)

  2. Oh my goodness, Ben will love those socks. He’ll bring them everywhere and change into them. Your husband is an old man.

    And your socks are going to be gorgeous! Stunning pattern.

Leave a Reply

