Which do you see- War or Peace?

A few weeks ago we had an assignment in class to take two words that were opposites and create a design using active positive and negative space convey both words.  I did many many sketches, which I won’t go through, but I did three cut outs.  I did end up with a favorite.

0126091207.jpg
I had a hard time getting into the idea of soldiers. Soldiers as a symbol of war- guns with soldiers- a marching army. I went through a couple in carnations, but this seemed the most simple and straightforward. It feels incomplete somehow. I guess I could have added something in the bottom corners if I had pursued this further.

0126091428.jpg
I really liked the idea of the mushroom cloud. It was the first image I thought of for war, but I didn’t think that there was a great way to create an image. This is what I came up with first– I think it’s a little hard to read.

0126092135.jpg
This is the image that I really liked in the end, that I put up for critique. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it- maybe turn it into a woodblock or make it into a digital image. I love the more complicated mushroom cloud shape melding with the doves.

Ok! This is just a little of what I’m doing in my design class. I am going to share more as I go!

Coming up next week– wedding invitation designs that I’ve been working on!

Leave a Reply

