ALPACAS!

0712091044.jpg
So for my birthday every year Ben plans a day of fun suprises for me! This year our official day got derailed by a tiny car accident, and I’ve been sitting on these pictures from our first stop until we could reschedule, but we haven’t yet, and it’s been like 2 weeks, so this is what my fabulous husband did for my birthday this year (well the first thing, there are more to come! 3 more suprises to come!)

0712091017.jpg
HE TOOK ME TO AN ALPACA FARM!!! ALPACA FARM! HOW FUN IS THAT?!?!!?!?!?!?

We went to Shadow Pines Alpaca Farm in Exeter, RI, and met Robert and Vivian, who were SO NICE to us, and answered ALL of our questions.  Seriously- Ben asked her soo many questions.  Like, by the time we ended our visit we were prepared to become alpaca farmers.
0712091031a.jpg
We went into the pens with all the girl alpacas and had a good old time feeding them carrots and petting them! It was so much fun!!

ESPECIALLY the babies!
Baby alpaca!
This one’s one month old.

0712091045.jpg
He’s one week old.

SO CUTE! There were so many alpacas! And they all had such different personalities!
0712091000.jpg
This was a male we met. Apparently they are born with fighting teeth! FIGHTING ALPACA TEETH! Can you imagine!?
0712091027b.jpg

It was terribly fun! And after our visit was over, Vivian and Robert took me into the house, showed me their fleeces and Vivians beautiful weaving, and then sold me some yarn!!!!!
July09 001
This is the yarn- 80% Alpaca, 20% Bamboo. Beautiful! I can’t wait to knit it into something wonderful and drapey!  I got about 1200 yards. 

0712091017a.jpg
And that’s the Alpaca that my yarn came from!! Her name is Morgan, and she is so completely pregnant in this picture. She’s ready to give birth at any moment! I’m sure she has a 2 week old baby by now!!

It was a totally fun Alpaca-filled morning!
0712091022.jpg
I’ll keep you posted on the rest of the things that Ben has planned, but I’m sure the rest of them won’t be as fun or yarn filled!

2 thoughts on “ALPACAS!

  1. Pingback: Twitted by chris190

Leave a Reply

