Scandinavian Fest!

So – I travelled to NJ this weekend, and on Sunday we went to Budd Lake to go to a Scandinavian Festival!!  It was pretty fun- there wasn’t that much to do, and we weren’t that into the whole public dancing thing.  We did see a comedy musician-

0906091433.jpg
His name was Magnus Martensson, and he totally funny! Totally unexpectedly hilarious.

The best thing, I think, about the festival were the Craft Demonstrations!

0906091606.jpg
There was some beautiful embroidery!

0906091608.jpg
This is Dorene Rhodes. She is a paper cutting artist- her work was absolutely beautiful, and she was a delight to talk to!

0906091609.jpg
Susan Keenan was demonstrating lace. I didn’t get to talk to her because she was yelling at people for touching her lace. I love the bobbins and how delicate the lace is! Beautiful. I don’t know how people have the patience for it.

0906091611.jpg
This is Carl Johnson. He carves wooden figures. His work was simply stunning- soo expressive, and of course I dind’t take a picture of it. I did take a picture of his tools. They were pretty stunning too.

0906091612.jpg
This is Janet Doyle – she was weaving the most beautiful scarf, and had the most beautiful shawls! She totally made me want to take up weaving! She says she’ll be at Rhinebeck– we had a lovely little fiber chat.

0906091613a.jpg
And I didn’t have any of this Knackenbrod, but I just loved the packaging.  Apparently it’s like a big cracker that never goes stale.  um.. yum?

So it was a beautiful day, and the festival was pretty fun.  I definitely looked like I fit in, even if I”m not actually Scandinavian.  They had these little flags that you can put on when you go in- it was pretty cool, actually.

0906091625.jpg
I’m probably part Swedish. And I’m definitely American.   It’s always interesting to have a discussion about our ethnic roots with our family because no one can agree on what we actually are- on both of my parents’ sides.  And I’m a complete mixture of both.  I’m a quarter Slovenian- that’s about all I can really pin down for sure.  But I suppose, it doesn’t really matter what I am– No one is going to ask me to pie chart my ethnicity (LUCKILY!).

One thought on “Scandinavian Fest!

Leave a Reply

