I’m feeling very disjointed this week

I don’t know if it’s the changing of seasons or my allergies acting up, but I’ve been feeling out of it all week. 

And I’ve been thinking a lot about rejection.  Not really because I’ve been so horribly rejected, but because I recently realized that I’ve spent a lot of time running away from being rejected. 

It’s interesting because I feel like in my personal life I’ve never really had a fear of rejection.  Sure- I’ve been rejected by men, but it never stopped me from running into a new situation where rejection was a possibility.  In my professional life on the other hand- I’m always shying away from rejection.  Obviously, rejection is a fact of life.  Everyone cannot get everything they want all of the time.  But I feel like I really have to put myself out there more.  As I was sitting at my booth this weekend at the craft fair I was constantly putting myself out there- talking myself up- and picking myself back up from a comment that I would have rather not have heard– but I wasn’t afraid to do it.  What’s the difference between trying to sell your artwork to people and trying to sell yourself to companies? 

I guess I’ll just have to get over this fear.  I can’t let myself get caught up in the emotional roller coaster. 

I’m working on it….

Leave a Reply

