Etsy Friday

It’s that time of year again- you know- the time where you can’t stand the fact that you  haven’t knit all summer and now you have 3 months to get everything done for Christmas/ Channukah!  I know- Sorry,  didn’t mean to freak you out.  You have plenty of time– TONS of time.  I just thought maybe we should think about gift knitting- you know – just to get a jump on it.  So for this Etsy Friday I will be featuring an Etsy yarn and a pattern that I am thinking about knitting for someone for Christmas-

Kernel by Bonnie Sennott from Knitty– I totally fell in love with this pattern the first time I saw it.  Beautiful!  And  it would make the wearer think of Autumn all year long- of spiced cider and turning leaves.  What could be a better gift?

Inca

 Inca by Evermore Studios

50% Superwash Merino/ 25% Superfine Alpaca/ 25% nylon yarn
Fingering weight
Approximately 438 yards or 100 grams
7 – 8 stitches/1 inch on US size #0-#3 needles

I LOVE the color of this yarn- it’s PERFECT for this pattern!  It’s not quite enough yardage though- you could always skip a couple of repeats.

Vesterday by Elinor Brown from Popknits– This vest is just darling. I know a young gent who certainly doesn’t read my blog who might like this. And it looks like a good starter stranded knitting project (which is just the kind I need!)

honey - tosh sock

Honey Tosh Sock by Madelinetosh

content :: 100% superwash merino wool
length :: 395 yards / 361 meters
gauge :: 6.5 to 7.5 sts per inch on u.s. size 1-2 needles

cloak - tosh worsted

Cloak tosh worsted by Madelinetosh

content :: 100% superwash merino wool
length :: 225 yards / 206 meters
gauge :: 4.5 sts per inch
suggested needle size :: US size 6-7

I like this black an honey yarn together.  I think it would make a beautiful vest!  The worsted will be thicker than the sock yarn, but I think it would create an interesting fabcric considering it’s stranded.  Maybe that’s crazy, but I might just have to try it!  I LOVE her yarn and was so excited to find her etsy store this morning!  I might at least need to buy that honey sock yarn before it sells! 

Twigs and Leaves Caridgan by Robin Melanson from Twist Collective–  I love this cardigan, and my mother has been searching for the perfect cardigan for me to make her.  I think this one might be it!   It’s falls below the waist, has some cabling, looks slimming, has an interesting closure, and would be good for sitting in the car.  I think this is it!  We’ve finally found it!

Ravens Purple - Twisted Tweed 120yds, DK Weight, Hand Dyed Wool Yarn

Ravens Purple Twisted Tweed by Dude Yarn

100% Tweed Wool from England is naturally hand dyed up in vibrant guy-friendly colors.

120 yards

DK knittable or crochetable goodness this yarn is dyed with love and earth-friendly care.

LOVE these colors- LOVE this yarn- I’m not sure if my mom would like it- too bright?  What do you think?

 

I totally owe you guys another Etsy Friday this week- stay tuned- it’ll be up tonight or tomorrow!

One thought on “Etsy Friday

Leave a Reply

